top of page
  • Writer's pictureStaff @ LPR

Louisiana GOP lawmakers form House Freedom Caucus

Three Republican lawmakers in Louisiana have formed a new conservative group called the House Freedom Caucus. This group is part of a national network with ties to the highly successful U.S. House Freedom Caucus in Congress.

The House Freedom Caucus in Louisiana launched publicly on Wednesday, just a few days before the start of the regular legislative session. The group only invites lawmakers who share their values and beliefs and refuses to disclose the identities of its members publicly.

Reps. Alan Seabaugh, R-Shreveport, Larry Frieman, R-Abita Springs, and Beryl Amedee, R-Gray, founded the group, and Seabaugh will serve as the chair. The group received an invitation from conservative leaders in Washington, D.C., to form the Freedom Caucus, and only lawmakers who share their conservative values have been invited to join.

Louisiana already has two other conservative caucuses, but the Freedom Caucus will likely take a stronger position on issues such as good fiscal policy, gun rights, and abortion. Rep. Jack McFarland, who runs the House Conservative Caucus with 42 members, believes that the Freedom Caucus will stake out territory to the right of his group. Although he hasn't been invited to join, McFarland supports the new group and looks forward to working with them to advance conservative values in Louisiana.


bottom of page